Group Strep B test (GBS)

Before I took the GBS test, I’ve only heard of GPS (Global Positioning System). And because it happens to be June, my husband said it reminded him of GSS (Great Singapore Sale). Lol~

GBS is a bacteria usually found in the reproductive tract and has little effect on adults but can greatly harm a newborn. You can read more about GBS here.

My test came back positive.

I was put on a round of antibiotics called amoxicillin and to be on antibiotics drip during labour. Of course I’m worried. Especially after reading the possible effects it might have on Baby Oli- meningitis, kidney problems, pneumonia etc… However, I also weighed the facts… after antibiotics treatment, the risks are largely lowered.

When I was doing my reading, I came across this verse:

“He will bless those who fear the Lord, both small and great.”- Psa 115:13

It gives me great comfort, even though I know the context is slightly different, but the words “small” and “great” makes me think of the little one in there “小 (small)” and myself “大 (big)”.

Have you heard of McDull? It’s a cartoon pig character based in Hongkong and they have a kindergarten theme song. Lovely lyrics and catchy tune:

All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful:
The Lord God made them all.

Leave a Reply

